Easter Update

Jesus said “Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free. (John 8:32). Is it the “truth” or The TRUTH that sets us free? Is it the word of God or The WORD of God? Check out the article His Presence Silences All Lies.

.
We are doing five webinars a year and the registration for them keeps going up. We are presenting the Freedom From Addictive Behaviors Advanced Webinar now and will begin the Helping Others Overcome Addictions Webinar on May 13 and we will do another one beginning Sept. 16. The Freedom From Addictive Behaviors Basic Webinar begins July 24. All of the webinars are free.

Our support usually drops off in the summer, but last month it plummeted to a new low. We’re not begging or even soliciting, but just letting the need be known and if and only if God leads you to support us here’s how.

There are three ways to financially support this ministry. 1) make the check out to Grace Walk Ministries and send it to them at PO Box 6537, Douglasville GA 30135. Be sure and enclose a note in the envelope indicating it is for the Quarles. 2) Or you could go to the web site at www. gracewalk.org and click on “Donations” in the left column, then click on “to make a donation by Visa or Mastercard” , fill out the form and designate it for us. 3) If you do not need a tax deduction you can send it via PayPal to freedfrom@bellsouth.net.

A Jewish girl in high school is doing a project on Spirituality and Alcoholics Anonymous and could use your help. I know some of you like me have been involved in AA. She needs to get 100 of these surveys filled out. It shouldn’t take more than ten minutes. If you don’t consider yourself an alcoholic you could indicate that on the survey. Request and return the survey by emailing Rachel Poma at rachelpoma4@gmail.com

4 thoughts on “Easter Update

  1. Faith always comes first. Faith is simply belief. We always act according to our beliefs. If you want to know what someone believes, then take a look at their actions. If you believe the truth that Christ is your life and lives in you and you are dead to sin and freed from it, there will be nothing for you to do. When we believe the truth and that is the truth we will know, believe and act on the basis of that truth. Unfortunately many Christians get their identity from their behavior, feelings and thoughts rather than the truth of what God says. Until a person is willing to believe the “truth that sets you free” (John 8:32), it will not make any difference what they do to get free. “It is for freedom that Christ set you free, so don’t get tied up again in slavery to the law” (Gal. 5:1).

  2. Hello! I just finished reading the book ‘Helping Others Overcome Addiction’. It was suggested to me by my pastor as I have been struggling with quitting smoking – cigarettes(a pack a day habit for the last 20yrs). There is sooooo much in the book that I am still trying to wrap my head around, lies I didn’t know I believed, and didn’t know were trapping me and keeping me bound. I have ordered the One Day at a Time Devotional, Steps to Freedom in Christ, Victory Over Darkness, and the Bondage Breaker because I want to know these truths not just in my head, but in my heart…. got to get it those last 18 inches! My Pastor (in a Calvary Chapel) is trying to help, and he thinks I should stop smoking and walk in faith. I know that I want to, but I am afraid I will fail—again. I’ve quit many times, and when I go cold turkey I get all kinds of wacked out emotions from blazing angry, to crying my eyes out. I know that this is the symptoms of physical withdrawal, but I am a single mom with 3 kids (who are teenagers 14, 16, 19) and we live with my recently widowed dad who is 79 yrs old and a Free Will Baptist pastor(yes he gave me legalistic roots and a strong faith). So my question to y’all is this: Is it ok to use a nicotine patch to help quit smoking? or does that mean I don’t get what the book is saying?

    • Diana, The best advice that I can give you is “Stop trying to quit”. The reason I say this is because as long as you’re trying to quit, it shows that you believe there is something for you to do. That is the big lie that the we talked about in the first chapter of the book, i.e. that the finished work of Christ is not enough ands there is something that we need to do to get free. However as Rom. 6:6,7 clearly point out, “We know that our old self was crucified that the body of sin might be done away with that we should no longer be slaves to sin, for anyone who has died has been freed from sin”. To experience our freedom in Christ we need to believe the truth that sets us free (John 8:32), and that truth is Gal. 2:20, “I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me and the life I now live I Live by the faith of the Son of God who loved me and gave Himself for me”. IT IS FINISHED! Every born-agian believer is free and the only reason they are not experiencing it is is primarily they believe the lie that thesre is something they must do. Why not just relax and rest in the truth that you are free no matter how you feel, how you are acting or what anyone else says or thinks. Nothing you do, no matter how spiritual will help you as Martin Luther pointed out 500 years ago. Only faith in Christ helps. Not our sincere intentions or efforts. There is nothing wrong with using a nicotine patch to wean you off nicotine. That is not a lack of faith. That is just realizing that you are physically addicted in your body to nicotine, but your body is not who you are. You are a “spiritual being” who lives in a body and all our bodies are different. I have been in a ministry to help people get free from addictions over 25 years and I have never seen anyone get free until they understood who they were in Christ and that Christ is our life and Jesus is living our life in us. Basically when a person understands Gal. 2:20, they will walk free. Just keep reminding yourself who you are in Christ and that you are dead to sin and freed from it and saturate yourself in the “truth that sets free”. The books you have ordered will help you do that. Also check out Fred Pruitt’s website at thesingleeye.wordpress.com. He explains the truth the best of anyone I’ve ever seen or heard. And remember “So Christ has really set us free. Now make sure you stay free and don’t get tied up again in slavery to the law” (Gal. 5:1 NLT). When someone tells you what you should do and you try to do it, no matter how good, right and spiritual it is and you try to do it, you have put yourself under the law and in bondage.

      • I understand what you are saying, but doesn’t there have to come a time when I step out in faith believing I’m free and actually stop smoking? If I have all the faith in the world and continue to smoke what good am I doing?

Leave a Reply

