God Has Done It

I have read Watchman Nee’s devotional, A Table in the Wilderness over the years, but not lately. I picked it up today and he really nailed it on what true faith and real grace is all about. “All things whatsoever you pray for, believe that you have received them, and you shall have them” (Mark 11:24).

“Faith is your acceptance of God’s fact. Had you thought of this? True faith always has its roots in the past. What relates to the future is hope rather than faith, though of course the two are closely interlinked. In these words of Jesus you re assured that, if you believe you already have received your requests (that is of course in Him), then “you shall have them”. To believe that you may get something, or that you can get it, or even that you will get it is not faith. This is faith: to believe that you have already got it. Such faith does not say ‘God can’ or ‘God may’ or ‘God must’. God it affirms, ‘has done it’. The Christian life is lived progressively, as it is entered initially, by faith in divine fact.” (Table in the Wilderness, May , Watchman Nee).

I put the devotional on Facebook in my status and a friend replied, “I know that He “has done it” so far as my salvation is concerned … I just don’t have the faith to name it and claim it when it comes to other things … say, finances … or, a new career, etc., etc. Guess He’s got more work to do in me, huh?”

My reply to him was, “I’ve struggled with the same thing over the years. But I believe the struggle is over, because it has all been done – for everything, sanctification – all. We are dead to sin and complete in Christ. It is finished! The Phillips paraphrase puts it like this, “For Christ means the end of the struggle for righteousness-by-the-Law for everyone who believes in Him.”

We really shouldn’t have to struggle to believe something as if we do it will be true. It is true because it has already been done. It is a fact.”

Don’t get me wrong. I do struggle with believing that all my prayers are answered as soon as I pray, but for the main issues in our Christian life, such as sanctification; God working all things for our good, etc, etc. I do think it is a done deal (even if I don’t act like it). 2 Cor. 1:20 says, “For no matter how many promises God has made, they are ‘Yes’ in Christ. And so through him the ‘Amen’ is spoken by us to the glory of God.

MQ

Leave a Reply

